Sports news for every genre

La Liga Season 2019-20 Standings

La Liga Season 2019-20 Standings

1Real Sociedad7421143+1114
2Real Madrid641194+513
5Atlético de Madrid5320101+911
10Real Betis7304711-49
15Deportivo Alavés721458-37
16Athletic Bilbao620446-26
17Celta Vigo7133410-66
20Real Valladolid7034511-63

La Liga (Spanish Primera Division) is a Spanish professional league founded in 1929 which is contested by 20 clubs. It is the most popular football competition in Spain. Barcelona won the first La Liga competition in 1929 while Athletic Bilbao won the tournament in 1930 and Real Madrid won their first competition in 1931.

La Liga season starts from August and ends in May with each team playing each other twice, once at their home stadium and once at opponents. Each team plays a total of 38 matches.


Three points are awarded to team for a win, one point for draw and zero for a loss. The teams are ranked by their total points accumulated, head-to-head match results, wins, goal differences and goals scored. Team with the highest number of points at the end of the season wins the competition, whereas last three rank teams are relegated to the Segunda Division

La Liga Season 2019/20

Barcelona also a defending champion is leading the table with 34 points from 15 matches.

La Liga Teams Season 2019/20

Athletic Club, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Celta de Vigo, Deportivo Alaves, Eibar, Espanyol, Getafe, Granada, Leganes, Levante, Mallorca, Osasuna, Real Betis, Real Madrid, Real Sociedad, Real Valladolid, Sevilla, Valencia, Villarreal

La Liga Season 2019/20 Top Scorers

Lionel Messi is leading goal scorer with 12 goals followed by Karim Benzema with 11 goals while Gerard Morino, Garcia & Lucas Perez stands at 3rd with 8 goals each.

La Liga Winners History

Real Madrid: 33 wins, 23 Runners-up

Barcelona: 26 wins, 25 Runners-up

Atletico Madrid: 10 wins, 10 Runners-up

Athletic Bilbao: 8 wins, 7 Runners-up

Valencia: 6, 6 Runners-up

Real Sociedad: 2, 3 Runners-up

Deportivo La Coruna: 1, 5 Runners-up

Sevilla: 1, 4 Runners-up

Real Betis: 1, 0 Runners-up

Players Record

Lionel Messi: 431 goals

Cristiano Ronaldo: 311

Telmo Zarra: 251

Hugo Sanchez: 234

Raul: 228

Alfredo Di Stefano: 227

Cesar Rodriguez: 223

Quini: 219

Pahino: 210

Edmundo Suarez: 195